St Mary's School and VELS

The Victorian Essential Learning Standards (VELS) is the Victorian Government mandated curriculum that is used at St Mary's as the basis of our curriculum planning.

VELS is divided into 3 strands:

Discipline-based Learning

  • The Arts
  • English
  • The Humanities
  • The Humanities – Economics
  • The Humanities – Geography
  • The Humanities – History
  • Languages Other Than English
  • Mathematics
  • Science

Interdisciplinary Learning

  • Health and Physical Education
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Personal Learning
  • Civics and Citizenship

 Physical, Personal and Social Learning

  • Communication
  • Design, Creativity and Technology
  • Information and Communications Technology
  • Thinking Processes

For more information on VELS, click here to visit the website